T20 International Cup: Sri Lanka Staff Winners

Kathmandu. Sri Lanka have entered the Super 12 of the ICC T20 Cricket World Cup by defeating the Netherlands to become the group winners.

Sri Lanka defeated the Netherlands by eight wickets in the final match of Group A of the first phase on Friday night.

Sri Lanka is the winner of Group A, winning for the third time in a row. From this group, Namibia has reached the Super 12 by winning two games and becoming the runner-up.

In the second round, Sri Lanka is in Group A. The group includes Australia, South Africa, England, the West Indies and Bangladesh.

Sri Lanka completed the 45-run target set by the Netherlands in Sharjah by losing 2 wickets in 7.1 overs.

In Sri Lanka’s victory, opener Kushal Perera scored an unbeaten 33 runs. Abhishek Fernando remained unbeaten on 2 runs.

Brandon Glover and Paul van Mikren of the Netherlands took one wicket each.

Earlier, batting first, the Netherlands could not withstand the deadly bowling of the Sri Lankan bowler and were all out for 44 runs in 10 overs.

Apart from Colin Eckermann of the Netherlands, who scored 11 runs, no other player was able to add a run in the double digits.

Lahiru Kumara and Vanindu Hasaranga de Silva took three wickets each for the Netherlands. Similarly, Mahesh Thiksana took two wickets and Dushmantha Chamira took one.


Sharing Is Caring:

Leave a Comment