That is how the Berlin Wall, constructed to prevent folks from transferring to Germany, collapsed

Tuesday marks the 32nd anniversary of the fall of the Berlin Wall, which was built to prevent people from fleeing to West Germany, which is under the influence of US imperialism from East Germany under Soviet control. The wall, built in 1961, was demolished in 1989. One year after the 155-kilometer-long wall collapsed, Germany was reunited. Three kilometers of the wall still remains.

After the end of World War II, the world was divided into two streams. The American-led bourgeoisie and the then-Soviet-led communist movement. The eastern part of the Soviet Union was declared a democratic republic of Germany in 1949. Despite being a separate country, the administration, military, and intelligence activities were under the control of the Soviet Union.

However, East Germany lags far behind West Germany in terms of development. Then there was the race to move from East Germany to the West. It is estimated that 3 million people traveled from east to west Germany before the wall was built. East Germany, alarmed by West Germany’s development, closed its border in 1961 and began building a wall in Berlin. Between 1965 and 1975, a huge wall was built to separate the two cities. The 155 km long wall was three and a half meters high.

After the construction of the wall, there was some shortage of traffic from east to west. By 1989, about 5,000 people had tried to climb the wall. At least 200 people were killed in the stampede. There were protests on all sides of the wall. Citizens of East Germany revolted. In November 1989, the East German ruler was forced to tear down the wall.

It only took three years to tear down the wall. The wall was completely demolished in 1992. One year after the wall was torn down, East and West Germany merged to form what is now Germany.

Germany The official name of the Federal Republic of Germany is Bundesripe D डsseland. To the north of this country are the North Sea, Denmark and the Baltic Sea; Poland and the Czech Republic to the east; Austria and Switzerland to the south; And to the west are France, Luxembourg, Belgium, and the Netherlands. The German territory covers an area of ​​357,021 square kilometers and has a temperate climate.

With a population of 82 million, Germany is the most populous country in the European Union. Germany is also the world’s third-largest immigrant population. There has been information and documents about a German-inhabited area called Germany since before 100 AD. From the 10th century until 1806, German territories formed the center of the Holy Roman Empire. In the 16th century, northern Germany became the center of Protestant Reformation.

In 1863, the unification of Germany began under Bismarck’s leadership. In 1871, in the midst of the Franco-Prussian War, the country first emerged as a modern nation-state. After the Second World War, in 1949, under the occupation of the Allied Powers, Germany was divided into two separate states. The two states reunited in 1990. West Germany is a founding member of the 1957 European Community (which became the European Union in 1993). In 1990, Germany reunited with the German Democratic Republic (East Germany) and the Federal Republic of Germany (West Germany).


Sharing Is Caring:

Leave a Comment