New Zealand beat England in T20 Global Cup last for the primary time

October 25, Agency.

New Zealand have reached the final of the ICC T20 World Cup for the first time, beating England. New Zealand reached the final for the first time by defeating England by 5 wickets in the first semi-final match of the ICC T20 World Cup 2021 held at Sheikh Zayed Stadium Abu Dhabi on Wednesday night. New Zealand will face Australia and Pakistan for the title on Sunday.

Chasing a winning target of 167 for victory, New Zealand lost 5 wickets in 19 overs. New Zealand opener Daryl Mitchell remained unbeaten on 72 off 47 balls with four fours and four sixes. New Zealand needed 57 runs in the last 4 overs. But the game took a new turn when Jimmy Nisham struck 23 off Chris Jordan in the 17th over.

Jimmy Nisham hit a six off the second ball of the 18th over and Daryl Mitchell hit a six off the fourth ball to give New Zealand hope. In the last ball of the over, Nisham was caught on the cover by Owen Morgan for 26 runs. Nisham hit 3 fours and 1 six in 10 balls. Daryl Mitchell hit a six off Chris Vokes in the second and third balls of the 19th over to seal New Zealand’s final.

New Zealand were under pressure from the start after opener Martin Guptill was caught in the third ball of the first over by fast bowler Chris Vokes and was caught by Moin Ali for 4 in the midfield. New Zealand got into trouble in the beginning after captain and key batsman Kane Williamson was caught by Adil Rashid for five in the fourth ball of the third over.

For the third wicket, Devon Conway and Daryl Mitchell shared 82 runs off 67 balls to lead New Zealand. Spinner Liam Livingstone was stumped by wicketkeeper Jas Butler for 46 in the fourth ball of the 14th over. Conway hit 5 fours and 1 six in 38 balls. England’s Liam Livingstone took 2 wickets for 22 runs in 4 overs. Chris Vokes took 2 wickets.

Earlier, after losing the toss, England lost 4 wickets in the allotted 20 overs and scored 166 runs. England’s Moin Ali remained unbeaten on 51 off 37 balls with three fours and two sixes. England got off to a moderate start with openers Johnny Bairstow and Jas Butler sharing 37 runs in 5.1 overs. Fast bowler Adam Milne caught Bairstow off Ken Williamson for 13 in the first ball of the sixth over.

Spinner Ish Sodhi lbw out Jas Butler for 28 in the first ball of the ninth over. Butler struck four fours in 24 balls. David Malan and Moin Ali shared 63 runs off 43 balls for the third wicket. In the second ball of the 16th over, fast bowler Tim Southee was caught by wicketkeeper Devon Conway for 41 runs.

Malan hit 4 fours and 1 six in 30 balls. England’s Liam Livingstone was caught for 17 off 10 balls with 1 four and 1 six. Owen Morgan remained unbeaten on 4 runs. New Zealand’s Ish Sodhi, Adam Milne, Tim Southee and James Nissam took 1-1 wickets.

New Zealand reached the final for the first time. Earlier, New Zealand was knocked out of the semi-finals in 2007 and 2016. The second semi-final will be played between Australia and Pakistan on Thursday. The winner will play New Zealand in the final.


Sharing Is Caring:

Leave a Comment