Australia wins T20 Global Cup

Kathmandu. Australia have won the ICC T20 World Cup for the first time. Australia defeated neighboring New Zealand by 8 wickets in the final on Sunday to become the champions.

Australia, who have won the ODI World Cup five times, won the title for the second time in the final. Australia had earlier lost to England in the 2010 final.

Reaching the final of the T20 World Cup for the first time, New Zealand was limited to runners-up. New Zealand, who reached the final of the 2015 ODI World Cup, lost to Australia.

In Dubai, UAE, Mitchell Marsh and David Warne batted brilliantly and then Ken Williams’ 85 runs were overshadowed.

Australia completed the 173 runs given by New Zealand by losing 2 wickets in 18.5 overs. Mitchell Marsh and David Warner hit half-centuries in Australia’s win. Mars scored an unbeaten 77 while Warne added 53 runs. Glenn Maxwell scored an unbeaten 28 runs. Australia lost captain Aaron Finch (5) in the third over and the team’s score was 15. But another opener, Warner, Mitchell Marsh shared 92 runs to lead Australia’s innings. Warner was dismissed for 53 in the 13th over. Warner, who hit four fours and three sixes off 38 balls, was bowled by Trent Bolt.

Marsh then teamed up with Glenn Maxwell to lead Australia to victory. They shared an unbeaten 66 for the third wicket. Marsh hit an unbeaten 77 off 50 balls with six fours and four sixes. Maxwell hit an unbeaten 28 off 18 balls with four fours and a six.

For New Zealand, Bolt took 2 wickets for 15 runs in 4 overs.

Earlier, after losing the toss and batting first, New Zealand lost 4 wickets and scored 172 runs with the help of brilliant batting of captain Kane Williams. Williamson played 85 balls and scored 85 runs with the help of 10 fours and 3 sixes. Williamson even equaled Maralo Samuels’ record for most individual scores in a T20 World Cup final. Maratin Guptill scored 28, Glon Phillips 18 and Daryl Mitchell 11 runs. Jimmy Nisham remained unbeaten on 13 runs.

For Australia, Jose Hazlewood took 3 wickets for 16 runs in 4 overs. Similarly, Adam Jampa took 1 wicket for 26 runs in 4 overs. Expensive former Mitchell Starc was wicketless for 60 runs in 4 overs.


Sharing Is Caring:

Leave a Comment