UCPN (M) State-1 Conference: Sharma and shut leaders within the fray, 29 applicants

Biratnagar: There are 29 candidates for 9 office bearers of the CPN-Maoist Central Province-1 Committee. In the election which is going to be held in 12 days after the inauguration, there is going to be competition between the two leaders of the center and the leaders of the provinces.

Janardan Sharma, who is also the Finance Minister, and Barshaman Pun, a leader close to him, are in the fray for the post. Sharma’s chief personal secretary Hark Bahadur Nembang and his close aide Muksahang Menangwo have nominated candidates for the post.

Eight candidates have been fielded for the three vice-presidential posts. Among them are Shiva Kumar Dangi, Bhogendra Prasad Yadav, Purushottam Chundal, Mani Kumar Sampang, Urmila Tamang, Dewan Chamling, Indira Mishra and Mohan Bahadur Khatri.

There are two candidates for the post of secretary. Among them are Ganesh Upreti Sushil and CP Kadaria. There are 13 candidates for the post of joint secretary. Among them are Rishi Ram Dhungana (Kusum), Raju Acharya, Santosh Tharu, Hark Lawati, Kumari Rai, Nishant Sharma, Vijay Prakash Banem, Thamnath Parajuli (Dhruv), Krishna Jimmy (Bharat), Dilkumar Rai, Tejman Kandangwa and Sagar Kirati.

There are 4 candidates for 1 treasurer. Among them are Madan Kumar Chundal, Ram Kumar Karki, Rewatraj Puri (Gagan) and Bandana Jhangad (Anisha).

The UCPN (M) state convention was inaugurated on December 9 in Biratchowk, Morang. The members of the provincial committee have already decided. As there is no consensus among the office bearers, the leadership is being formed by holding elections.

Ram Karki, in-charge of UCPN-M’s state 1, said that they had to go to the polls as they could not reach a consensus despite exercising till the last moment.

A five-member task force was formed to select the leadership unanimously. Central members Suresh Kumar Rai, Indra Bahadur Angbo, Hemraj Bhandari and Ram Kumari Chaudhary were in the task force under the coordination of Ajambar Kangmang, Assistant In-Charge of State-1.


Leave a Comment